I wonder if I s…

I wonder if I should feel guilty knowing how much I eat and how little others get to.  I’m really not even that appreciative of my food when I eat it.  There has not been a time in my life when I have experienced real, desperate hunger. I take food for granted.  I actually take a lot of things for granted living in the U.S, but that is a discussion for another class.  I mean, I get hungry every now and again.  And even when food is not readily available I know that all I have to do is open my refrigerator, or drive a short distance to they supermarket where I can buy whole meals of food for an hours worth of money.  I don’t believe I am the only one in a developed country who just doesn’t understand and appreciate what it means to actually be hungry.  When I was in Vietnam it was considered rude to not finish your plate of food because there were people starving and if you were lucky enough to have food, you ate it.  Perhaps if people in developed countries understood hunger they would be more inclined to help those without food.  Instead of saying “finish your food, there are people starving in Africa” you could say “be appreciative of your food because you could just have easily been born in another part of the world that does not have food”.  I’m probably wrong though.  The majority of people just don’t care about Africa or starving children.  It does not affect them on a daily basis and likely never even enters their thoughts.  

About catsinthepantry

Hey cats, get out of that pantry!
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

